HomePoliticsNEWSElection Will Not Hold In 240 Polling Units, INEC Declares

Election Will Not Hold In 240 Polling Units, INEC Declares

12 days before the general election, Independent National Electoral Commission said that the election will not hold in 240 polling units.

Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, the INEC chairman stated this at a meeting with leaders of political parties on Monday.

He said that no voters indicated interest to transfer to those units them during the last Continuous Voter Registration due to insecurity, hence the total polling units for elections is now 176,606.

“Let me, therefore, start with the issue of polling units. You may recall that in 2021, with your support and that of other critical stakeholders, the Commission successfully expanded voter access to polling units 25 years after the last delimitation exercise in 1996. Consequently, the number of polling units increased from 119,973 to the current figure of 176,846.

“At previous meetings, we also briefed you on our efforts to redistribute voters to the polling units in order to avoid the congestion that made voting cumbersome in many of them nationwide. This requires the redistribution of voters to new polling units in proximate locations. Where they are separated by distance, this must be done after consultation with the voters. This has been done by our State offices nationwide.

“However, there are 240 polling units without registered voters spread across 28 states and the FCT. They range from one polling unit to 12 polling units in each state and the FCT, except Taraba and Imo states with 34 and 38 polling units respectively. No new registrants chose the polling units and no voters indicated interest to transfer to them during the last Continuous Voter Registration, mainly for security reasons. This means that no elections will hold in these polling units.

ALSO READ:  You Did Nothing Wrong In Meeting Osinbajo, Aisha Yesufu Tells Taaooma

“In our avowed commitment to transparency, the Commission is making available to Nigerians a comprehensive list of these polling units by name, code number, and their locations by state, local government, and registration Area. With this development, the number of polling units where elections will hold nationwide on February 25, 2023, and March 11, 2023, is now 176,606. Hard copies of the list are included in your folders for this meeting. Above all, Nigerians deserve the right to know the locations of these polling units. Accordingly, the soft copy of the list has been uploaded to our website and social media platforms for public information and guidance,” he narrated.


Just In: DSS invites Fani-Kayode Over Coup Allegation



Mary Ama
Mary Ama
A passionate writer with the sauce. I do that to get you entertained without a 404 page.

Leave a Reply

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

%d bloggers like this: