In The Latest Sanctions, Russia Indefinitely Bans Kamala Harris And Mark Zuckerberg From Entering The Country

Russia has permanently banned US Vice President Kamala Harris and Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg from entering the country over the US’s stance towards its invasion of Ukraine.

The sanctions were imposed in retaliation for Western sanctions against Russia for its invasion of Ukraine. 

The travel ban includes top Pentagon officials, US business leaders, and journalists, including Vice President Kamala Harris, LinkedIn CEO Ryan Roslansky, and the ABC reporter George Stephanopoulos.

Russia’s foreign ministry said the people would be denied entry into Russia on an “indefinite basis,” according to an Insider translation of the ministry’s press release.

The ministry said it identified the people as responsible for shaping “the Russophobic agenda” in the US, according to a translation.

The sanctions are unlikely to have any significant effect on Zuckerberg or any of the people on this list other than stopping them from visiting Russia.

Notably, the list did not include the names of top US business leaders like Twitter CEO Parag Agrawal or Google CEO Sundar Pichai, even though Twitter and YouTube, which is owned by Google, have been proactve in handling Russian misinformation.


ALSO READ:  US Surgeon general resign at Joe Biden's request

Leave a Reply