Omicron: FG Restricts Airlines From UK, Canada, Saudi Arabia

Minister of Aviation, Capt. Hadi Sirika on Sunday stated that the Federal Government will restrict airlines coming from Canada, United Kingdom, and Saudi Arabia into Nigeria in reciprocity over Omicron Variant.

This decision will take effect from Tuesday, December 14, 2021.

He also said that President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration would also place the United Kingdom, Canada and Saudi Arabia on a red list over the outbreak and spread of the Omicron variant.

He said:

“There is also the case of Saudi Arabia that put Nigeria on the ban list. On Sunday, I participated in a meeting with the COVID-19 task force.

“They are not supposed to come in. I am very sure in the next three days; Monday or Tuesday, all those countries will be put on the red list of COVID-19,’’

Sirika apologised to Nigerians intending to travel to those countries, but said Nigerian government’s decision was in the interest of the country. 


ALSO READ:  Federal Government Was Charged By Reps Over Degrading Treatment Of Diaspora Nigerians

Leave a Reply