”We Convey Our Disappointment Over Nigerian’s Announcement Suspending Twitter”-EU, Ireland, UK, USA, Canada Says In A Joint Statement

President Buhari

Recall that On the 4th of June, the Nigerian Government through Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed revealed┬áthat the Nigerian government has “indefinitely suspended” Twitter, following Twitter who deleted Buhari’s tweet two days before.

The Joint Statement reads;

“The diplomatic missions of Canada, the European Union (Delegation to Nigeria), the Republic of Ireland, the United Kingdom and the United States of America convey our disappointment over Nigeria’s announcement suspending #Twitter and proposing registration requirements for other social media. 

“We strongly support the fundamental human right of free expression and access to information as a pillar of democracy in Nigeria as around the world and these rights apply online as well as offline. Banning systems of expression is not the answer.

“These measures inhibit access to information and commerce at precisely the moment when Nigeria needs to foster inclusive dialogue and expression of opinions, as well as share vital information in this time of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

“The path to a more secure Nigeria lies in more, not less, communication to accompany the concerted efforts of Nigeria’s citizens in fulsome dialogue toward unity, peace and prosperity. As Nigeria’s partners, we stand ready to assist in achieving these goals.”

See Statement below:

ALSO READ:  President Buhari To Address The Nation 7am On Oct 1st

Leave a Reply