Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomeSportsLionel Messi Wins Eighth Ballon D’Or as Soccer’s Best Player

Lionel Messi Wins Eighth Ballon D’Or as Soccer’s Best Player

Superstar footballer Lionel Messi has won his eighth Ballon d’Or of his remarkable career.

The Inter Miami star was named the winner of the prestigious prize on Monday night in the French city of Paris, in what many see as a fitting reward for leading the Abiscelete to a World Cup triumph late last year.

The award ceremony took place on Monday, October 30, at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France.

Messi succeeds Karim Benzema as the winner of the prize awarded for his performances last season, when he inspired Argentina to glory at the World Cup.

The prestigious award has been dominated over the last 15 years by Messi and his arch-rival Cristiano Ronaldo, who have won it 12 times between them.

Former Barcelona superstar Messi scored seven times at the World Cup and was named the tournament’s best player after Argentina beat France on penalties in the final in Doha.

Yet Messi, who won his first Ballon d’Or in 2009, also had an underwhelming final season at Paris Saint-Germain before leaving to play for Inter Miami in Major League Soccer.


Watch Moment Rema Performs “Calm Down” At 2023 Ballon D’Or






ALSO READ:  Lionel Messi Tells Barcelona He Wants To Return After PSG

Leave a Reply

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments